SCO Summit – 2020

Spread the love

SCO Summit – 2020

Key Points:

  • Shanghai Cooperation Organisation -2020 concluded recently through virtually through video conferencing

  • The virtual Summit was hosted by Russia

  • SCO comprises of India, China, Russia, Tajikistan, Uzebekistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic and Pakistan

  • Four observer states of SCO include Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran and Mongolia.

  • Six dialogue partners of SCO include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Nepal, Turkey, Sri Lanka and Cambodia.

  • Headquarter of SCO is in Beijing, China

  • On November 10, 2020, India attended the SCO Summit

  • This the 20th summit for SCO

  • 3rd Summit for India. India became member in 2017

  • Initially India was an observer in SCO

Issues of India and discussion points in SCO

  • NSA Ajit Doval walks out of virtual SCO meet after Pakistan projected fictitious map.

  • The Prime Minister of India slammed Pakistan for bringing “Bilateral” Issues in SCO which is against SCO agenda and violation of charter and spirit of Shanghai.

  • The PM said enhancement of connectivity is important while respecting territorial integrity and Sovereignty.

  • Russia and China criticized western countries in SCO 2020

  • Pakistan PM Imran Khan opposes “Illegal and Unilateral” action of any country

  • The Summit also discussed on issues of commemoration of 75th anniversary of world war II, Covid-19, digital economy and terrorism.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *