Nobel Prize Winners 2020

Spread the love

Like every year the committees in Sweden and Norway name laureates in a variety of prizes in literature, economics, science and peace work. This year also names of winner in various categories have announced. The Nobel Prizes most years are presented to recipients in Stockholm and Oslo in December.
This time each prize will rise to 10 million Swedish krona, 1 million more than in the previous year. That’s a hike in the prize value of about $112,000 in current exchange rates.

Nobel Prize Winners- 2020


Harvey Alter, Michael Houghton, and Charles Rice shared the 2020 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for their discovery of the hepatitis C virus.


Roger Penrose, Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez received the prize for their discoveries that have improved understanding of the universe, including work on black holes.


The Nobel Prize in Chemistry was jointly awarded to Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer A. Doudna for their work on the development of Crispr-Cas9, a method for genome editing.


The Nobel Prize in Literature was awarded to Louise Glück, “for her unmistakable poetic voice that with austere beauty makes individual existence universal.”


The Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to the World Food Program for its efforts to combat a surge in global hunger amid the coronavirus pandemic.

Economic Science

Paul R. Milgrom and Robert B. Wilson were awarded the Nobel in economic science for improvements to auction theory and inventions of new auction formats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *